Our social studies instruction reflects the competencies and concepts embedded in the New York State Standards for Social Studies and the New York State Assessments. The five specific content areas are:

  • History of the United States and New York

  • World history

  • Geography

  • Economics

  • Civics, citizenship and government

We expand on the state standards to provide each student with the knowledge, skills, understanding and disposition toward democratic values that are necessary to participate in a culturally diverse American society and an interdependent world.

We add the dimension of Catholic values to help children connect the message of the Gospel, the teachings of the Catholic Church and its impact on world history, and the role of Catholics in America to the other aspects of the curriculum.