Catholic elementary schools in the Archdiocese of New York are located within nine geographic regions. Each of the nine regions is a separate, not-for-profit, educational corporation chartered by the New York State Department of Education. Catholic school regions are governed by a two-tiered membership corporation with the Archbishop, Vicar General and Chancellor comprising the top tier. The second tier of the Catholic School Region Corporation consists of a volunteer Board of Trustees comprised of clergy, laity and religious leadership. Regional Superintendents oversee elementary schools’ operations. Individual business offices in each region support the work of the regional Boards of Trustees and committees, with Regional Business Managers functioning as corporate secretaries and coordinating the day-to-day operations of their respective region.